Home Media SNG In the Media South Africa's Top BEE Awards Announces Winners

South Africa's Top BEE Awards Announces Winners

The prestigious Oliver Empowerment Awards, which is hosted by Topco Media's annual empowerment publication Impumelelo, acknowledged, congratulated and celebrated the efforts made by 16 local companies and individuals towards the development of Black Economic Empowerment (BEE) and transformation. From an impressive list of 60 finalists, winners in 16 categories were announced at a black tie event on Thursday 3 May 2012 at Emperors Palace in Johannesburg.

The ceremony started on high note with the Lifetime Achievement Award being given to respected businessman Mark Headbush. This after an address by keynote speakers Tembakazi Mnyaka, the Deputy President of the Black Management Forum, and Eric Miyeni, journalist, filmmaker, actor and agent provocateur.

"Mark has made an incredibly positive impact not only in the area of black economic empowerment but also in the South African business arena as a whole. He is a notable and remarkable business leader who embodies the principals of empowerment, entrepreneurship and transformation. He is totally deserving of this Lifetime Achievement Award after a lifetime dedicated to transformation and equal opportunity," publisher of Impumelelo, Ralf Fletcher said.

Designed to shine the spotlight on and recognise leadership and innovation in empowerment, the awards has three categories; organisations, individuals and headline awards.

"Whether individuals or organisations, all entries underwent a rigorous judging process and had to meet eight preset criteria. Most importantly, the winners clearly demonstrated that they had integrated transformation as part of their business processes and not considered it a silo imperative that was activated and paraded for procurement and business development purposes only. The merits of this approach is evident in the business' sustained success and worthy of celebration," Fletcher said.

A star-studded list of personalities and notable business leaders including the likes of the current Miss South Africa Melinda Bam, award-winning actor Clint Brink, Ayanda Vilakazi and Christopher Mashigo from the The Coega Development Corporation, Tyrone Naidoo, Executive Director at BEE Online and Thami Mtshali, CEO of iBurst joined the eloquent MC for the evening Siv Ngesi on stage to handover the awards.

And the winners are (kindly note that further information on each of the awards and winners is available at the end of the release):

  1. Empowerment Funding Award: Absa Group Limited
  2. Education and Training Award: Dormac (Pty) Ltd
  3. Supply Chain Management Award: Netcare Limited
  4. Corporate Leadership Award: SizweNtsalubaGobodo Inc
  5. Community Development Award: Netcare Limited
  6. New Black Business Development Award: Netcare Limited
  7. Diversity Award: Lion of Africa Insurance Company Limited
  8. Top Black Entrepreneur of the Year Award: Bongi-M Construction cc - Ms Sibongile Maseko
  9. Top Black Business Leader of the Year Award: Sizwe Ntsaluba Gobodo Inc. - Ms Nonkululeko Gobodo
  10. Top Black Public Sector Executive Award: SAMSA - Commander Tsietse Mokhele
  11. Top Black Owned Business of the Year Award: Lebone Engineering (Pty) Ltd
  12. Top Empowered Business of the Year Award: SizweNtsalubaGobodo Inc
  13. Top Black Owned SMME Award: Molobeng Mining Labour Hire and Projects SA (Pty) LtdPublic Service Award: SAMSA
  14. Top Empowered Multinational Award: Microsoft South Africa (Pty) Ltd
  15. NGO of the Year Award: Zenzele Training and Development

The evening was punctuated by the hip swaying tunes of Tender Mavundla, the talented Idols finalist who also bravely revealed her HIV Positive status to South African viewers during the contest. Her silky voice kept the attendees entranced, among them Metro FM's, Azania Mosaka, Ex-Miss SA Joan Ramagoshi, Menzi Ngubane from

Generations, Sisa Hewana from Isidingo, Kass Naidoo from Cricket SA and Top Billing's Lorna Maseko.

"These awards are not about a trophy, a badge or about a prize of any kind. Granted, previous winners have achieved landmark successes and closed deals in excess of R1.3 million post receiving an award, its about one thing, recognition. It's about saying well done and thank you, we recognise you and applaud you for making a better South Africa for us all. It's as simple as that. And that's the bottom line," said Fletcher about the awards.


The Oliver Empowerment Awards are South Africa's most influential awards recognising leadership and innovation in empowerment. The Awards, now in their 11th year have become hugely prestigious and are considered the ultimate accolade by winning companies for their transformation activity. Rigorously assessed and independently assured by PriceWaterhouseCoopers, they provide recognition for companies that are integrating empowering business practice and delivering positive impacts in the marketplace, in the workplace and in the community.

The Awards, with official media partners - Impumelelo, Business Report and BizCommunity, are the primary means by which the Oliver Empowerment Awards identifies, celebrates and disseminates good practice and communicates the positive impact on business and society

The judges include Salukazi Dakile-Hlongwane, CEO of Nozala Investments, Kganki Matabane, Executive Director of Business Unity South Africa, Thami Mtshali, CEO of iBurst, Anitha Soni of the ASA Tourism Services Group, Nathan Nadasan of the National Empowerment Fund and Tyrone Naidoo of BEE Online.

The eight judging criteria include:

  • Annual revenue generated must be above R35-million unless otherwise specified
  • Only companies with a valid B-BBEE Certificate will be considered for entry
  • Please ensure that the B-BBEE certificate is SANAS approved
  • Implementation of strategic B-BBEE policies
  • Implementation of effective internal B-BBEE measurement mechanisms
  • Status with regards to the seven pillars of empowerment as per the B-BBEE


Strong financial performance
Please note the quality of entry is critical to the judging process.